Photo: iStock

ACET: Prof. Marianne Vanderschuren, Sekadi Phayane and Alison Gwynne-Evans received the Charley V. Wootan Award for their paper “Perceptions of Gender, Mobility and Personal Safety: South Africa Moving Forward”

The Transportation Research Board Executive Committee selected this paper written by Prof. M. Vanderschuren, S. Phayane and A. Gwynne-Evans, as the winner of the Charley V. Wootan Award. This yearly award is given for the best paper in the area of transportation policy and organization.

The Certificate of Award will be presented at the Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lecture and Presentation of Awards, scheduled for Monday, January 13, 2020 in Convention Center Ballroom B, in Washington, D.C., during the TRB 99th Annual Meeting to be held January 12-16, 2020.

You can read the abstract related to this paper here.


The Charley V. Wootan Award, established in 2004, and presented for the outstanding paper in the field of policy and organization, honors the Director of the Texas Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University System, from 1976 to 1993. Active in TRB for many years, Charley V. Wootan served as Chairman of the TRB Executive Committee in 1983 and held the positions of Group and Council Chair in the Technical Activities Division.

This award is given each year for the best paper in the area of transportation policy and organization.

January 2022
Upcoming Events
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
v52            1 2
v1  3 4 5 6 7 8 9
v2  10 11 12 13 14 15 16
v3  17 18 19 20 21 22 23
v4  24 25 26 27 28 29 30
v5  31            


Skills and Tools Academic Short Courses 2022 Pdf, 814.7 kB. (Pdf, 814.7 kB)

This Call is an opportunity for scholars and teachers in sub-Saharan Africa to make a
concrete contribution to strengthening the academic skills of next generation African researchers in fields related to urban transport and mobility

Deadline: 15 February 2022


The VREF invites PhD students and researchers in early stages of their career to apply for a Study Visit Grant to be supported with up to SEK 30 000.

MOBILITY GRANT 2022- MAC-MG 2022 Pdf, 447.1 kB. (Pdf, 447.1 kB)

The VREF invites PhD students and advanced master students from Sub-Saharan African (SSA) universities to apply for a Mobility Grant (MG) to support a visit to another SSA university with up to SEK 25 000.

CALL FOR NOMINATION FOR the Håkan Frisinger Award for Excellence in Transportation Research

The VREF invites universities located in Sweden to nominate candidates for The Håkan Frisinger Award (Håkan Frisingers pris till framstående transportforskare) and apply for a VREF Visiting Researcher Grant for the nominated candidate.

Closed on 2022-03-03.

Read more... Pdf, 233.6 kB. (Pdf, 233.6 kB)

Lee Schipper Memorial Scholarships for Sustainable Transport and Energy Efficiency targets supporting the momentum of Lee Schipper’s contribution to the international policy dialogue in these fields.

This yearly award is aimed at supporting young individual researchers and students in is pursuance.

Call deadline: March 1, 2021 .


Blog! Blog! Blog!

Global Mobility Research

This Meeting of the Minds' blog monthly releases interviews of global transportation researchers from the VREF's Future Urban Transport Program Network.


This CityFix series, produced by the WRI (World Ressources Institute) Ross Center for Sustainable Cities and supported by the VREF, discusses walking and cycling in cities with a special focus on low- and middle-income countries.

About VREF

The Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF) inspires, initiates and supports research and educational activities through the Future Urban Transport Programme - How to deal with the complexity of urban transport (FUT). 

Our Vision: Sustainable transport for equitable access in urban areas


© Copyright VREF